With over a million active users per day, Facebook is undoubtedly the most active social media network today. Facebook has a way of hypnotizing its users thereby making them stay hooked and drawn to it. Like a user once said that to every successful student there is a deleted Facebook account.
How to delete or deactivate a Facebook account – what’s the difference?
- You can reactivate your account whenever you want
- People can’t see your Facebook Timeline, or search for you
- Some information may remain visible (like messages you’ve sent)
- Facebook saves your account info (like friends and interests) in case you reactivate
- Facebook delays deletion for a few days after the request is made. If you log in during the grace period, the deletion is cancelled
- You can’t regain access to your Facebook account once it’s deleted
- It can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in backup systems to be deleted. However, your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time
- Some things aren’t stored in your account, like messages that you’ve sent to friends – these will remain active
- Copies of some material (like log records) may remain in Facebook’s database, but are “disassociated from personal identifiers,” according to the company
You should know that the delete Facebook feature is completely different from deactivating your account. So, therefore, you should think carefully before deleting your account permanently. When a Facebook account is deleted you can’t reactivate any of your data, you can’t regain access to your account once it is deleted. The delete Facebook feature is not just a tap away. There is actually a deletion process. It takes 90 days to complete the deletion process. If you log in during the deletion process the whole process is canceled and you will have to start the whole process again.
How to Delete Facebook Account
- Visit the official Facebook deletion page at facebook.com/help/delete_account.
- A page will appear, displaying delete my account and cancel, click on delete my account.
- Reenter your password in the password box provided on the next page.
- Type in the captcha code in the box provided. If you can’t make out the code, you can request for another code by clicking on the try another text or an audio captcha rather.
- Click on the ok tab which will automatically submit your code.
- Lastly, a pop-up page will appear, click on ok to permanently delete your account.
HOW TO DELETE AN OLD FACEBOOK ACCOUNT WITHOUT YOUR PASSWORD
How to Delete Your Old Facebook Account Completely On Your Facebook Application
- Log in your present Facebook account
- Locate your old Facebook account
- Click on the name
- Click on the three horizontal buttons at the right-hand of the page (close to message)
- On the drop down menu, click on ”Report”
- Click on ”Recover or close this account”
- On the pop-up screen, click on ”Recover or close this account”
- If you select ”Recover this account” you’ll be logged out of your current account and taken through steps to help recover the account
- If you select ”Close this account”, the profile will be reviewed and deactivated after Facebook is able to verify that it’s your old account.
How to Completely Delete Your Old Facebook Account On Your Browser
- Click in the top right side of the account’s profile
- Click ”Report”
- Click ”Recover or close this account” then tap on continue
- On the pop-up screen, you will be given options:
- If you select ”Recover this account”, you’ll be logged out of your current account and taken through steps to help recover the hacked account
- If you select Close this account, the profile will be reviewed and deactivated after Facebook is able to verify that it’s your old account.
NOTE: Ensure that your current profile is not a friend to your old profile, i.e, on your current and new profile, you should not be friends with your former and old profile.
How to take control over what you see on Facebook
How to lock down your privacy on Facebook
Every time you post something on Facebook, whether it’s a photo or a status update, from mobile or the web, you’ll see an audience selector drop-down menu—you can add or remove any of your contacts to the “audience” for the post, and your choices are remembered for next time.
If your beef with Facebook is intrusive advertising and tracking then there are ways to limit this as well, though you do give up some level of privacy by signing up for the site in the first place.
For even more protection against online tracking, head to the Digital Alliance website and opt out as many tracking programs as you like. There are also browser extensions that can help protect your privacy, both on Facebook and off: check out The Privacy Badger or Adblock Plus for Chrome and Firefox, for example (just please remember to add this blog to the whitelist along the way).